Why Lighthouses?

When I taught middle school, my classroom was filled with lighthouses. Inevitably some student would ask me, ”Why do you have so many lighthouses?” My short answer, depending on the time and situation, was, “Ask me after class.” The actual answer involves several ideas.

1) The purpose of a lighthouse is to guide ships to safe passage and to warn them away from the shallows and rocky shore. As an educator, part of my goals was the guide students into learning and keep them safe while doing so. Education is light for the future. Without it, my students would be crippled in their path to success in life. It was my job to hold that light of knowledge high. That reason is also why I was the sponsor for National Junior Honor Society at my middle school.

2) In John 8:12, Jesus said to the people following Him, “I am the Light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” Those lighthouses reminded me that I never stood in that classroom alone. Come what may – storm, disruption, fire, shooter – Jesus would guide me in protecting my students and protect me as well.

3) In Matthew 5:14-16, Jesus told his disciples, “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bushel. Instead they put it on a stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in Heaven.” Isn’t that what a lighthouse does? God put me in the classroom to be light in the lives of my students, to reflect His Light. The path of knowledge was important, but more important was the impact I made on their lives because I was His lighthouse in that classroom.

So, those three reasons were why my classroom was awash in lighthouses.That’s why I proudly go by the user name “tatumlight”.

2 thoughts on “Why Lighthouses?

  1. medazmr says:

    It’s so important to be in the midst of the next generation, ready with an answer as to why we shine. Thanks Diane for the post.

  2. I have always loved lighthouses. They stand on the edge of land, often alone and unheralded. they stand strong amidst adversity, doing what they were created to do. They warn us and guide us to safety, but only if we are watching and following their lead. You are a lighthouse to many and your light shines brightly.

Leave a Reply

